Former juror testifies disgraced doctor’s wife offered her envelope with money

From the Calgary Herald: http://www.calgaryherald.com/news/calgary/Former+juror+testifies+wife+disgraced+Aubrey+Levin+offered/10249409/story.html

Former juror testifies disgraced doctor’s wife offered her envelope with money 

A former juror in the Aubrey Levin sexual assault trial testified Tuesday how she was approached by the ex-forensic psychiatrist’s wife at a CTrain station and offered money to find him not guilty.

The woman, who cannot be named because of a publication ban imposed by Court of Queen’s Bench Justice Karen Horner, said she told the woman to go away. She then took the train home, wrote a letter and reported the incident to the judge at the next court session three days later on Jan. 14, 2013.

Erica Levin, 70, is on trial for attempted obstruction of justice.

The witness said she recognized the woman who approached her as being the person who sat in the gallery behind Aubrey Levin every day throughout the first three months of the trial, and she believed her to be his wife.

“I got the feeling I was being watched, then I saw the accused,” the ex-juror told Crown prosecutor Rajbir Dhillon, alluding to what she saw after she arrived at the 6th Street LRT platform and validated her ticket.

“She said to me, ‘You’re a juror’ in a questioning tone. I said ‘Go away, we can’t talk.’ Then I moved myself across the street. Then I heard a voice behind me say, ‘Please don’t find my husband guilty.’ I recognized the voice as the woman who talked to me earlier.

“I turned and noticed in her hand was a white envelope. And she said, ‘Here, a thousand dollars, my husband is not guilty.’ I said, ‘Go away, go away, we can’t talk.’ Then I moved away, with my back toward her. She said again, ‘My husband is not guilty, not guilty.’ Then I believed she had walked away. Maybe a second or two later, she said ‘My husband is not guilty,’ then I didn’t see her again.”

When asked by Dhillon if she was certain of the amount she was allegedly offered, the ex-juror said she was unclear.

“She said $1,000, then I think she said $10,000. I was stunned,” said the witness. “I said, ‘Why is this happening in Canada? Why did she pick me?’

For the rest of the article, go here: http://www.calgaryherald.com/news/calgary/Former+juror+testifies+wife+disgraced+Aubrey+Levin+offered/10249409/story.html

In other news outlets: CBC – http://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/calgary/erica-levin-trial-hears-from-juror-at-centre-of-bribery-accusation-1.2783081

Calgary Sun: http://www.calgarysun.com/2014/09/29/court-of-of-bribe-attempt-in-sex-case

Leave a Reply

